IMPORTANT NOTICE: DO YOU OWN A VEHICLE
FOR MANY DMV SERVICES YOU MUST SHOW PROOF OF INSURANCE. RECENT RESEARCH SHOWS US DRIVERS ARE PAYING MORE FOR AUTO INSURANCE THAN WHAT IS REQUIRED BY THE STATE. SHOW PROOF OF INSURANCE AND SEE IF YOU WILL SAVE UP TO $500 PER YEAR!!

What is a Hardship License

A hardship license is a restricted driver's license that officials issue to drivers with limited driving privileges. Usually, motorists with hardship licenses can drive to and from work, school or medical appointments. Each state's requirements and regulations regarding hardship licenses differ, although most are available through a local motor vehicle department.

Conditions for Using a Hardship License

When a driver accumulates specific violations, such as a DUI/DWI or reckless driving, on his or her driving record, authorities may suspend or revoke that individual's license. Each state's laws vary on the conditions that qualify an individual for a hardship license. For example, if someone cannot get to work, school or doctor's appointments without driving, then that individual can make a case to a local court for the permission to hold a hardship license.

Tennessee issues hardship licenses to teen drivers with special family circumstances that require them to be responsible for driving back and forth between home, work, school and medical facilities. The condition for this restricts a teen driver to driving in daylight hours and with family passengers only.

#ADS#

Eligibility for a Hardship License

In your state, if a driver has a suspended license for one year due to being unable to operate a motor vehicle safely, he or she is not eligible for a hardship license.

However, that person can request a hearing to appeal for opportunities to pass the exam to acquire it. A driver with a suspended license due to an accumulation of points may apply for a hardship license.

North Carolina drivers petitioning for a hardship license only meet eligibility requirements if they have not had their driver's licenses suspended for DWI convictions, do not have multiple suspensions pending, have not requested a restricted license within the last three years or do not have pending charges in any state. The same conditions of driving to and from work, school and medical appointments applies to North Carolina drivers as in most other states, but with the added requirement of proof of state car insurance.

In the state of Texas, teen drivers 15 years of age and older can qualify for hardship licenses under special conditions. Teens are eligible if enrolled in a vocational program or have a family situation that requires them to be the sole transportation provider for running the household. If an immediate family member passes away and the teen needs to temporarily transport remaining family members to carry out household routines, then that teen driver is eligible for a hardship license.

Benefits of a Hardship License

Although hardship licenses have limited driving privileges, individuals who obtain one do not have to put their lives on hold or rely solely on others to continue their daily routines. Drivers with a hardship license can still attend school and go to work as well as some other specific locations. In some states, the conditions for using such a license can include religious services and counseling programs.